December 5, 2010

thirty

Posted in kate, RADVENT, things I like at 10:51 pm by kate

Fifth Radvent prompt: write down the soundtrack of your year so far. Play it for someone who loves you.

I am doing this, but with a caveat: I have genuinely terrible taste in music. Or maybe it is not terrible! (It probably is.) But at the very least, it is low-brow and narrow and self-indulgent. Having said that, these are the songs I loved the most this year.

1. Even The Losers, Tom Petty (live at the Fillmore, 1999).

2. This Is How It Goes, Aimee Mann (live, and not great quality).

3. Gone, Ben Folds.

4. I’m Not The Guy, Dan Bern.

5. Forget You, Glee (YES THAT IS GWYNETH PALTROW SINGING and I am sorry but I love that song so much. Even more than the original. I SAID I WAS SORRY.)

6. Angel of Harlem, U2.

7. Under African Skies, Paul Simon (the whole Graceland album is amazing, of course. I can hardly believe it’s been in my life for 25 years.)

8. Les Miserables (I have listened to the soundtrack of this show maybe 500 times this year? Mostly while I was at work. And I love it every time.)

2 Comments »

  1. Maura said,

    I LOVE Angel of Harlem. I love U2 a lot, but Angel of Harlem is probably one my top 5 songs. I was just thinking I should buy another copy of Les Mis. Would it be weird to run to showtunes? Rent is the only other showtunes I really ever loved. And still love.

  2. kate said,

    Maura, I know! When I was teaching English in China I used to make my students do air guitar and air horn to Angel of Harlem. And I definitely don’t think it would be weird to run to show tunes (although I’m obviously biased).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

