January 2, 2011

thirty-two

Posted in kate at 10:25 pm by kate

Year-End Review!

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

I turned 30. I was put in charge of a team of people at work. I built a motherfucking gingerbread house with my own stupid hands (I am never building another gingerbread house again).

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I did! And I will. At the end of last year my primary goal was to be warmer because I was completely obsessed with the fact that one of my friends told me I was NOT WARM. That is a really shitty thing to tell a person, by the way. At any rate I tried to be kinder and more helpful and a better human being in general and that worked out really well for me. My resolution for next year is to have more parties.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My sister.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My grandfather died on June 29 and then his girlfriend of 35 years died two weeks later.

5. What countries did you visit?

Just the US. I think I went to Vegas and California and then I went to New York two hundred times after my grandfather died.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

Last year I said I wanted a promotion and a good local friend. I feel like I got both of those things in spades this year. This year I want more people to share my life with and I would like to finally get my Canadian citizenship.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

My grandfather’s funeral, when I cried and cried and cried. When my mother let my sister move back to Alaska to do drugs, taking her infant daughter with her. When I finally stopped sleeping with my ex-husband. The G20 protests, which took place where I live and work and which were terrifying and disruptive and incredibly pointless.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

At the beginning of the year the tiny company I work for was acquired by a much larger company and I was miserable for a while. Then I got over it and started to really excel at my job.

9. What was your biggest failure?

There was a particular area in my life that I was struggling with and I had to give it up. Doing that made me feel like a failure but it was also the best idea I have ever had. So, that.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I finally got to the bottom of why I was throwing up all the time and now I feel great. I love everything about being sick in Canada, especially the fact that when I pick up my LIFE-CHANGING anti-nausea meds at the pharmacy it is $5.45 for THREE MONTHS.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I started buying myself flowers every week when I turned 30. Every week they are the best thing I buy.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Mine, sometimes. The behavior of a few coworkers in particular — if you don’t have coworkers that make you laugh until you cry you should try to get some. It is pretty great.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My mother, my step-father. They have both been making really shitty decisions for about 45 years.

14. Where did most of your money go?

This year like last year a lot of money went towards helping my sister’s kids stay fed and housed. And listen, I bought way more shit from the Gap than any one person really should.

15. What did you get really excited about?

Editing, talking to people that I love.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?

I really love this quote when I am overwhelmed by a big life change: you don’t have to do nothing fast.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

– happier or sadder? Last year my answer was “happier, by far” and that’s also my answer this year. I am exponentially happier than I was last year.
– thinner or fatter? Thinner.
– richer or poorer? I don’t know. Probably the same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

More long walks with my dog, more going to bed early with a good book.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

I wish I had spent less time feeling disgruntled and angsty after the company was acquired.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

This year like last year I worked most of the day. The work that I’m doing right now makes me really happy and I did not mind working at all.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?

In a whole lot of small ways, yes.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Project Runway, again. Top Chef, Fringe, HIMYM. And Terriers, which was canceled after one season because no one watched it — but it was seriously so great.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No.

24. What was the best book you read?

I read a lot of mediocre books (I am looking at you, Stieg Larsson) but nothing that was truly extraordinary.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Sufjan Stevens, particularly his religious songs.

26. What did you want and get?

Local friends.

27. What did you want and not get?

I’m pretty much over anything I wanted and did not get.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Probably Up in the Air — I loved that movie.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I took a really long walk with the dog and then bought myself flowers. It was a Saturday. The day before I got an ice cream cake at work which was delicious. Super low-key birthday. I turned 30.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If my tiny, charming apartment had a dishwasher OH MY GOD. That would be so great.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

Here are some three-season wool trousers! Now let’s go to work.

32. What kept you sane?

My job, business trips, television.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I developed a super-crush on Joshua Jackson.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

I was not super-thrilled that Rob Ford was elected as mayor of Toronto. But seriously. I live in Canada. I have yet to encounter a stirring political issue here.

35. Who did you miss?

My grandfather. He was really such an amazing man.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

I have really enjoyed getting to know my coworker Karen. She is smart and fun and we hate the same things.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Say yes.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

I am still not a song lyric person.

PS: these are my flowers of the week.

 

 

 

7 Comments »

  1. Marlo said,

    1) Hellooo, why haven’t we discussed HIMYM?

    2) I’m so sad that you aren’t a song lyric person. I google way too many song lyrics.

    3) If I had a million dollars, I’d buy you a dishwasher. If I was your roommate, I’d wash your dishes.

  2. Marisa said,

    I am still mourning the loss of Terriers.

  3. kate said,

    Marlo, how did I forget to mention you in the best new person I met this year question? HOW?

  4. Maura said,

    I love that you buy yourself flowers every week. Flowers make me so happy, but I never buy them! I bought two plants that I’m struggling, really struggling, to keep alive. They drink SO MUCH WATER. I can’t keep up.

  5. Nancy said,

    My goal two years ago was to finally stop sleeping with my ex! He was such a scumbag, but I couldn’t help myself. It took a lot but I felt so much better when I finally walked away. Was 2010 the first year you didn’t, or did you stop in 2010? Congrats either way :)

    By the way, I’m now a huge fan of your blog! It’s funny, clever, and so honest.

  6. Violet said,

    I just re-read this post because I was thinking of you, and just wanted to say I wish you were writing more here (this is not meant as pressure, just a wish).

    Lots of love to you!

  7. kate said,

    I have also been wishing I was writing more here, Violet! I hope that happens soon. xo xo.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

